Your Councillors | Oxford City Council

mycouncil.oxford.gov.uk/mgMemberIndex.aspx

Your Councillors

City Councillors

Oxford has a total of 48 City Councillors, with two Councillors elected for each of the 24 wards.

The City Council normally elects half the council every two years (one councillor in each ward).

The next election, to elect half the council, is in May 2024.

More details about each City Councillor are below.

Political make-up

Following the local elections on 5 May 2022 the political composition of the Council is:

- Labour Group 32 seats
- Liberal Democrat Group 9 seats
- Green Group 6 seats
- Independent (non-grouped) 1 seat

What councillors do

Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these may take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form.

County Councillors and MPs

- <u>County Councillors</u>
- <u>MPs</u>

City Councillors' details



Councillor Mohammed Altaf-Khan Headington

Liberal Democrat

•



Councillor Lubna Arshad Temple Cowley

Labour

.



Councillor Shaista Aziz Rose Hill & Iffley

Labour

Cabinet Member for Inclusive Communities and Culture



Councillor Susan Brown Churchill

Labour

Leader of the Council, Leader of the Labour Group, Cabinet Member for Inclusive Economy and Partnerships



Councillor Nigel Chapman Headington Hill & Northway

Labour

•

Cabinet Member for Citizen Focused Services



<u>Councillor Mary Clarkson</u> Marston

Labour

.

Heritage Champion



Councillor Tiago Corais Littlemore

Labour



Councillor Barbara Coyne Headington Hill & Northway

Labour

Older Peoples' Champion



Councillor Lizzy Diggins Carfax & Jericho

Labour

•



Councillor Dr Hosnieh Djafari-Marbini Northfield Brook

Labour

Migrants Champion



Councillor Paula Dunne Cowley

Labour

•

•



Councillor Laurence Fouweather Cutteslowe & Sunnymead

Liberal Democrat

Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group



Councillor James Fry Walton Manor

Labour

Lord Mayor



Councillor Andrew Gant Cutteslowe & Sunnymead

Liberal Democrat

•

•

•



Councillor Stephen Goddard Wolvercote

Liberal Democrat



Councillor Duncan Hall Northfield Brook

Labour



Councillor Tom Hayes St Clement's

Labour

.

•



Councillor Alex Hollingsworth Carfax & Jericho

Labour

•

Cabinet Member for Planning and Housing Delivery (Labour and Co-operative Party)



Councillor Rae Humberstone Blackbird Leys

Labour

Armed Forces and Veterans Champion



Councillor Jemima Hunt St Clement's

Labour

•

•

•



Councillor Chris Jarvis St Mary's

Green Party

Leader of the Green Group



Councillor Emily Kerr St Mary's

Green Party



Councillor Tom Landell Mills Summertown

Liberal Democrat

•

•



Councillor Dr Amar Latif Cowley

Labour

•



Councillor Mark Lygo Churchill

Labour

Deputy Lord Mayor



Councillor Sajjad Malik Temple Cowley

Independent Group

•

•

.



Councillor Katherine Miles Summertown

Liberal Democrat



Councillor Alistair Morris Marston

Green Party



Councillor Lois Muddiman Osney & St Thomas

Green Party



Councillor Edward Mundy Holywell

Labour

•

•



Councillor Chewe Munkonge Quarry & Risinghurst

Labour

Deputy Leader, Cabinet Member for Leisure and Parks



Councillor Jabu Nala-Hartley Barton & Sandhills

Labour



Councillor Lucy Pegg Donnington

Green Party

•

Deputy Leader of the Green Group



Councillor Susanna Pressel Osney & St Thomas

Labour



Councillor Anna Railton Hinksey Park

Labour

Cabinet Member for Zero Carbon Oxford and Climate Justice



Councillor Rosie Rawle Donnington

Green Party

•



<u>Councillor Ajaz Rehman</u> Lye Valley

Labour

•

Small Business & Inclusive Economy Champion



Councillor Mike Rowley Barton & Sandhills

Labour

Sheriff of Oxford



Councillor Jo Sandelson Wolvercote

Liberal Democrat

•



Councillor Linda Smith Lye Valley

Labour

•

Cabinet Member for Housing



Councillor Roz Smith Quarry & Risinghurst

Liberal Democrat



Councillor Dr Christopher Smowton Headington

Liberal Democrat

Liberal Democrat Group Leader



Councillor Imogen Thomas Holywell

Labour



Councillor Ed Turner Rose Hill & Iffley

Labour

Deputy Leader of the Council (Statutory), Deputy Leader of the Labour Group, Cabinet Member for Finance and Asset Management



Councillor Louise Upton Walton Manor

Labour

•

Cabinet Member for Health and Transport & Cycling Champion



<u>Vacancy (Councillor)</u> Littlemore



Councillor Naomi Waite Hinksey Park

Labour

•



Councillor Diko Walcott Blackbird Leys

Labour

•

Cabinet Member for Safer Communities